A bit of a worry

Posted: January 9, 2012 in Nissan Leaf Diary

Travelling home from work on Friday I decided to show my brother the new car. As normal I showed off, therefore I ate a lot of the power. I decided to do some shopping in Port Laoise and charge the car while I was doing so. This was my worry, as I have said before the charging points are not designated only for EVs and they are too close to the shops. All the way to Port Laoise I was worried the spots would be taken. When I got into Port Laoise I was even more worried. The place was packed, it took 10 minutes to get into the car park and all the spots where taken (with exception to some of the disabled places). As luck would have it, just as I was coming to the chargers a car beside one of the EV spots pulled out. There was enough length on the lead, so I plugged in. Phew!! After shopping I noticed that there was still not enough power (only 27km, my house was 29km). This was plenty to make it to the rapid charger at Monasterevin but I decided to give it a go anyway, and started toward home. I drove home at a standard speed but not flying along and was happy I got home fine. The – – – was flashing but the car never went into slow mode (turtle) and behaved as normal. I plugged it in and went about my business.

Comments
  1. Mi Leaf says:

    Hi

    Love the blog. Are you drinking more coffee than usual. I hope to take delivery of my Leaf next Friday. Regards. Mi Leaf

Leave a Reply

