Even If It’s Broken, Don’t Fix It

Posted: July 13, 2012 in Nissan Leaf Diary

I have been using the charger in St Johns Rd W (Heuston Station) for the past week. As you may have read from an earlier post, it takes a while for the RFID reader to catch the card and then again a few more tries before it allows access. So collecting the car yesterday, I met 2 engineers who were working on the issues of charging point, i.e. the unresponsive RFID & only the right port opening. Today, I went to plug in my car and have to say the RFID reader is very responsive and picked up on the card instantly. Unfortunately, since the repair work the reader only says “Charging is not possible with this card” and it doesn’t matter how many swipes you try. So, I decided to park in my office building (no point in paying the car park fees when there is no benefit). As there is no other charging point within a walkable distance from my current location of Kilmainham (closest is Crumlin SC and always covered by ICE cars), I guess I will have to find a quick charger on the way home today.

Comments
  1. Lar says:

    the rapid charge in park west @ Nissan HQ is great, security offer you coffee too. The charger close to my work is 15 min walk away, so I purchased a folding bike on the “cycle to work scheme” 5 min cycle, result. Bike was 30% cheaper through the scheme. Have a look and see what you think.

    • naturalblue says:

      Hi Lar
      Thanks for that. I have used the HQ charger before and it is great. I will probably have to use it on the way home. The Heuston charger I use is 15-20 mins walk away and that’s the nearest to me. I will not walk any further to get a parking spot. I have already checked out a few folding bikes this. If you have any suggestions on a decent cheap bike, let me know. Thanks

Leave a Reply

